Burt Sugar

Burt Sugar

Burnt Sugar is a dark and evocative re-imagining of a classic fairy tale from the award-winning Kirstyn McDermott. Ideal for fans of Jane Yolen, Theodora Goss, and Catherynne M. Valente. Decades after the incident in the woods, Gretel has forged a good life in a small village, running a bakery and taking care of her brother and the stray, bedraggled women who find work as her apprentices. Business is good, and when it’s not, Gretel took more from the witch than a knack of making sweet treats and gingerbread, just as her brother returned home forever changed by the torture he experienced. The book of magic hidden beneath the stairs has kept Gretel and her household comfortable for years, but it also calls to Gretel in the night, demanding she return to the woods and replace the witch they killed. For years, she’s been resisting, determined to keep Hansel and her apprentices safe. Then Hansel’s drinking goes too far and Gretel realises her brother is dying. Finally, the seductive call of the book’s magic might be too strong to deny… Burnt Sugar is the first novella in Kirstyn McDermott’s Never Afters series. Dark, powerful, and brimming with magic, these tales weave a reimagined world in which fairy-tale girls grow up to find both love and heartbreak, family and friendship, and moments of loss and forgiveness.

Download Now
Author
Publisher Brain Jar Press
Release Date
ISBN 1922479195
Pages 34 pages
Rating 4/5 (98 users)

More Books:

Burt Sugar
Language: en
Pages: 34
Authors: Kirstyn McDermott
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-02-15 - Publisher: Brain Jar Press

GET EBOOK

Burnt Sugar is a dark and evocative re-imagining of a classic fairy tale from the award-winning Kirstyn McDermott. Ideal for fans of Jane Yolen, Theodora Goss,
Burnt Sugar
Language: en
Pages: 68
Authors: Artist Avery
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-02-21 - Publisher: Lulu.com

GET EBOOK

This is a story told through poetry and thoughts over time; a collection for those who need healing.
Burnt Sugar Cana Quemada
Language: en
Pages: 144
Authors: Lori Marie Carlson
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2006-08-07 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

GET EBOOK

Here are the sights, sounds, and rhythms of Cuba, revealed in the evocative works of some of the finest Cuban and Cuban American poets of the twentieth century.
Burnt Sugar
Language: en
Pages: 240
Authors: Avni Doshi
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-07-30 - Publisher: Penguin UK

GET EBOOK

SHORTLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE 2020 LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION 2021 WINNER OF THE SUSHILA DEVI AWARD 2021 NEW YORK TIMES 100 NOTABLE BOOKS O
Code of Federal Regulations
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories: Administrative law
Type: BOOK - Published: 1950 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Special edition of the Federal Register, containing a codification of documents of general applicability and future effect ... with ancillaries.
The Code of Federal Regulations of the United States of America Having General Applicability and Legal Effect in Force June 1, 1938
Language: en
Pages:
The Modern Cook
Language: en
Pages: 560
Authors: Charles Elmé Francatelli
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1880 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Journal
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: New South Wales. Parliament. Legislative Council
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1882 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Internal Revenue Bulletin
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: United States. Internal Revenue Service
Categories: Internal revenue
Type: BOOK - Published: 1949 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

A Manual of Analytical Chemistry
Language: en
Pages: 200
Authors: John Muter
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1887 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK