Living Ghosts and Mischievous Monsters

Living Ghosts and Mischievous Monsters

Perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark! A shiver-inducing collection of short stories to read under the covers, from a breadth of American Indian nations. Dark figures in the night. An owl's cry on the wind. Monsters watching from the edge of the wood. Some of the creatures in these pages might only have a message for you, but some are the stuff of nightmares. These thirty-two short stories -- from tales passed down for generations to accounts that could have happened yesterday -- are collected from the thriving tradition of ghost stories in American Indian cultures across North America. Prepare for stories of witches and walking dolls, hungry skeletons, La Llorona and Deer Woman, and other supernatural beings ready to chill you to the bone. Dan SaSuWeh Jones (Ponca Nation) tells of his own encounters and selects his favorite spooky, eerie, surprising, and spine-tingling stories, all paired with haunting art by Weshoyot Alvitre (Tongva). So dim the lights (or maybe turn them all on) and pick up a story...if you dare.

Download Now
Author
Publisher Scholastic Inc.
Release Date
ISBN 133868163X
Pages 185 pages
Rating 4/5 (35 users)

More Books:

Living Ghosts and Mischievous Monsters
Language: en
Pages: 185
Authors: Dan SaSuWeh Jones
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-07 - Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

GET EBOOK

Perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark! A shiver-inducing collection of short stories to read under the covers, from a breadth of American Indian
Living Ghost
Language: en
Pages: 339
Authors: Ginna Moran
Categories: Young Adult Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-01-02 - Publisher: Sunny Palms Press

GET EBOOK

When a mortifying breakup in the school cafeteria triggers seventeen-year-old Callie White to project her soul from her body, the last thing she expects is to d
A Living Ghost
Language: en
Pages: 34
Authors: Alexander Kavalier
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-11-05 - Publisher: Titan InKorp LTD

GET EBOOK

Trapped in the London dungeons Jack is visited by something from the other side, offering him the vengeance he desires against his captors and those who have ca
Living Ghost and Other Uncanny Stories
Language: en
Pages: 157
Authors: Chansa Makan
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-24 - Publisher: BlueRose Publishers

GET EBOOK

This book delves into the mystic world of the Tangkhul Naga where the line between the real and spirit worlds are blurred. Drawn from the deep oral storytelling
Living in the Shadow of the Ghosts of Your Grief
Language: en
Pages: 96
Authors: Alan D. Wolfelt
Categories: Self-Help
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-06-01 - Publisher: Companion Press

GET EBOOK

Explaining how multitudes of North Americans are carrying the pain of all types of loss—not just the deaths of loved ones but also the loss of a spouse throug
The Living Ghost
Language: en
Pages: 122
Authors: Allen B. Ury
Categories: Monsters
Type: BOOK - Published: 1996 - Publisher: Roxbury Park Juvenile

GET EBOOK

When she is accidentally exposed to a beam of radiation while on a school field trip, thirteen-year-old Anne is able to become invisible and to see the malevole
Hades; or, the Intermediate state of man
Language: en
Pages: 167
Authors: Henry CONSTABLE (Chaplain of the City of London Hospital for Diseases of the Chest.)
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1873 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Living with Ghosts
Language: en
Pages: 34
Authors: Harry Benford
Categories: Ghosts
Type: BOOK - Published: 1969 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Ghosts
Language: en
Pages: 396
Authors: Ruth S. Freed
Categories: Social Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 1993 - Publisher: University of Washington Press

GET EBOOK

This monograph is the ninth of a series devoted to the description and analysis of life in Shanti Nagar, a village in the Union Territory of Delhi. Our research
A Lifetime Living with Ghosts and Spirits
Language: en
Pages: 102
Authors: Cindy C. Smithson
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-07-16 - Publisher: Createspace Independent Pub

GET EBOOK

A non fiction book about the paranormal world around us and what I live with being a psychic medium. Full color ghost pictures.