The Mirror of Magic

The Mirror of Magic

A collector’s edition of the classic, illustrated, and comprehensive history of magic and the occult • Written by renowned Surrealist and magic scholar Kurt Seligmann (1900-1962) • Includes all 250 illustrations from the original 1948 edition • Explores magical practices and beliefs from their origins in the ancient world through the heyday of secret societies in the 18th century In the occult classic The Mirror of Magic, renowned Surrealist Kurt Seligmann (1900-1962) draws from his encyclopedic practitioner’s knowledge and extensive antiquarian collection to offer a comprehensive, illustrated history of magic and the occult from Mesopotamia and ancient Egypt through the 18th century. He explores the gods and divinatory arts of the legendary Sumerians and the star-wise Babylonians, including the birth of astrology. He examines the afterlife beliefs of the ancient Egyptians and the dream interpretation practices and oracles of ancient Greece, including the mysteries of Eleusis and the magical philosophy of Plato, Socrates, and other Greeks. He uncovers the origins of Gnosticism and the suppression and banishment of magic by the post-pagan, Christian emperors of Rome. Seligmann reviews the principles of alchemy, sharing famous transmutations and allegorical illustrations of the alchemical process and explores the Hermetica and its remarkable adepts. Investigating the Middle Ages, the author discusses the work of European magicians of the time, including Albertus Magnus, Roger Bacon, Agrippa, Nostradamus, and Pico Della Mirandola. He studies the medieval practices of devil worship, witchcraft, and black magic, as well as the “Cabala” in both its Hebrew and Christian forms. He also examines the art of the Tarot and many lesser known divination techniques. He explores the development of secret societies, including Freemasonry and Rosicrucianism, in the 17th century and the increase in occult publications and magical science in the 18th century. First published in 1948, this history of magic and the occult seeks to “mirror” the magical worldview throughout the ages. Beautifully illustrated with images from the author’s rare library, this collector’s edition features all of the artwork--more than 250 images--from the original 1948 edition.

Download Now
Author
Publisher Simon and Schuster
Release Date
ISBN 1620557916
Pages 512 pages
Rating 4/5 (14 users)

More Books:

The Mirror of Magic
Language: en
Pages: 512
Authors: Kurt Seligmann
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-16 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

GET EBOOK

A collector’s edition of the classic, illustrated, and comprehensive history of magic and the occult • Written by renowned Surrealist and magic scholar Kurt
Mirror Magic
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Claire Fayers
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-14 - Publisher: Pan Macmillan

GET EBOOK

The town of Wyse, set precisely on the border of England and Wales, is remarkable for one thing: it is the only remaining human town where magic works. When twe
The Magic Mirror
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Susan Hill Long
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-05-10 - Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

GET EBOOK

The twisty-turny journey of a girl searching for her heart’s desire—glimpsed in a magic mirror. Perfect for fans of Rump or Catherine, Called Birdy A foundl
The Magic of the Mirror (Thea Stilton Special Edition #9)
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Thea Stilton
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-06 - Publisher: Scholastic Inc.

GET EBOOK

The Thea Sisters are on a magical adventure! The Thea Sisters' next adventure to the Kingdom of the Fairies!
Voodoo Rituals
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Heike Owusu
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2002 - Publisher: Sterling Publishing Company, Inc.

GET EBOOK

Influence the unconscious mind. To practice Voodoo is to enter the ancient world of Magik, where secret arts developed from rituals held by ancient pagans, Nati
Mirror Magic (My Magical Life book 3)
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Zach King
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-02-07 - Publisher: Penguin UK

GET EBOOK

The third book in this magical middle-grade series from Zach King! Things are going pretty well for Zach. He recovered his magical powers, he and his best frien
Eight Princesses and a Magic Mirror
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Natasha Farrant
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-09-05 - Publisher: Head of Zeus Ltd

GET EBOOK

Guardian Books of the Year 2019. Here are eight princesses for the Rebel Girls generation: bold, empowered, full of curiosity, adventure and determined to be tr
The Mirror of Magic
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Kurt Seligmann
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 1948 - Publisher:

GET EBOOK

Mirror Magic
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Claire Fayers
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-06-14 - Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books

GET EBOOK

The town of Wyse, set precisely on the border of England and Wales, is remarkable for one thing: it is the only remaining human town where magic works. When twe
Zach King: Mirror Magic
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: Zach King
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-12-31 - Publisher: HarperCollins

GET EBOOK

Zach King, the award-winning social media superstar with nearly 25 MILLION fans, is back with the third and final magical installment in his hilarious, fun-fill